The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that the number of shoppers in central plaza has been steadily decreasing due to the increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza may seem tenable at first glance. However, the conclusion of prohibiting skateboarding in central plaza relies on the assumption that decrease in shoppers in central plaza is arrantly due to increase in the popularity of skateboard seems specious.

Firstly, the writer assumes that the wane in their business is utterly due to the popularity of skatebords. Their might be other possible reason, other than skateboarding due to which shoppers don’t prefer coming to plaza, like there might have opened more plazas, which are waxed in size than this plaza and more accessible. These new plazas might be offereing more sales than the central plaza. If the writer have covered these evidence it might have strengthen his conclusion.

Secondly, the writer assumes that the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throught out the plaza is due to the skateboard users. This assumption doesn’t seems apt because the central plaza workers might be responsible for this. We can’t simply assert that this is due to skateboard users as we don’t have a strong evidence.

Furthermore, the writer doesn’t exegesis this problem. Shoppers stemmed comming to the plaza because of the unhygienic condition in plaza and surly shop-keepers behaviour. His argument would be strengthened considerably if he defines the scope of the problem more clearly and submit more conclusive evidence.

In conclusion, it would not be wise for the writer to take such an action with complete evaluate of the problem, it will only impede the business of the central plaza.