The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues. “Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC’s copper unless the company abandons its mining plans.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion, from disjointed and incomplete data, that environmental disaster can be prevented if consumers refused to purchase the products of the Crust Copper Company(CCC). In support of his position, the writer claims that pollution is inevitable once the CCC company will start mining at West Fredonia. He also mentioned that West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species. At first glance, the writer's conclusion seems plausible, but in the depth analysis reveals certain logical fallacies.

At first, the major lacuna in the given argument is that the writer assumes that the CCC company purchased 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical West Fredonia for copper mining. The CCC company likely purchased the land for any other purpose rather than copper mining. It might be that the CCC company purchased the land for investment purposes. Also, the writer does not mention about the statistical data regarding the copper reserve at the West Fredonia. It might be that there is no copper in the land. Therefore, it's unreasonable to conclude that the CCC company will do the copper mining and harms the environment.

Furthermore, even if we assume that the CCC company will mine the copper at West Fredonia it does not support the writer's assertion that it will lead to ineluctable pollution. Because the writer does not provide any past data related to copper mining and pollution about CCC company. At the same time, the CCC company may practice the best pollution control policy in the market. Maybe the government already analyzed the possible outcome and after evaluating everything related to the pollution they allowed the CCC company to purchased land at West Fredonia. Also, the writer does not provide any information related to other copper mining company's efficiency in maintaining pollution. The CCC may be the only company that can control and maintain the pollution under the desired range. Hence, the writer's claim that pollution is inevitable falls apart if the CCC can control the pollution.

Another gap in the argument is that the writer unfairly assumes that endangered animal species live at the same place where the CCC company purchased the land. Likely, the CCC company's land is far away from the living place of endangered species. Moreover, the writer doesn't mention the total tropical land at West Fredonia. Maybe a 10,000 square miles is negligible compared to the total tropical land at West Fredonia. Consequently, there may be enough space for the animal species even if the CCC company operates in that area. Given the above, advice given by the writer seems extremely unreasonable.

All things considering, it may be said that the writer is failed to provide convincing arguments because of the complete absence of the evidence needed to prove his assumption. The argument might have been more comprehensive if the writer presents more information about past pollution data of the CCC company and total land at West Fredonia. Moreover, there is a requirement of the evidence that can prove that pollution is ineluctable by the CCC company. But no convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect.