The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

In the given argument prompt, the author of the letter claims that corporate downsizing in Elthyria does not result in economic suffering for the ones who lose their jobs and that they find apposite alternative jobs quite shortly thereafter. The author of the letter comes to this conclusion on the basis of a recent report on Elthyrian economy. However, before the claim (based on three unwarranted assumptions) of the author can be accepted as true, following three evidences must be provided by the author to substantiate his claim.

To begin with, the author needs to provide evidence that the recent Elthyrian economy report correctly represents the trend of the Elthyrian Workforce. It might be the case that the report was conducted intermittently and took datapoints in an interval spanning several years e.g. the report took the data of 1999, 2004,2009 and so on and did not consider the actual addition and cuts in no. of jobs between these 5 years gap which may considerably change the outlook of workforce pattern or in fact reverses the claimed trend. Also, it is possible that the report did not followed a scientific and foolproof method to reach its conclusion in which case the value of the report shall be severely undermined. If any of these two cases prove to be true, this evidence shall greatly weaken the argument’s persuasiveness.

Secondly, even if the report on Elthyrian economy has merit, the author must provide evidence to support his assumption that the jobs being created and the jobs being cut down match in renumeration to the competent employees and if not so, the employee simply wouldn’t leave the job for better prospects in other cities. Perhaps the new jobs being created provide salaries considerably lower than the employee’s skills merit which would not help in significantly reducing his financial problems. In addition, it is important to know the attrition rate of the employees in these “new jobs” being created to assess whether these new openings are actually filled with competent employees or if they are indeed filled up, the employees actually retain their job for a long enough period. This evidence, if proved true, shall weaken the claim of the author considerably.

Finally, the author needs to provide evidence in support of his assumption that the remaining one-third of the workforce which receive lower than average minimum wage is not significant. It is possible that the total number of workers in Elthyrian are in tens of thousands (for the sake of the argument, say 90,000) in which case one third of the workforce would account for about 30,000 people which is a significant number of people and even if 50% of these 30,000 people are supporting a family, it puts a tremendous economic burden on their lives. In addition, the author assumes the “vast majority” of these jobs being on full time implies job stability for them. What if out of these 60,000 employed people, 40,000 employees work on full time basis and the other 20,000, however competent, are continuously being laid off after every few months. These people will then again face the economic burden till such time they find alternative occupations. Thus, if any of the above stated two assumptions are not supported by concrete evidence, it hampers the overall persuasiveness of the author’s argument.