The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The conclusion of the author that “if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty” is based upon the three primary reasons like more number of agents in the Adams Realty, revenue of Adams Realty is higher and it took less time to sell home. Though the argument of the certainly has merit, because of lack of evidence, weak assumption and vague terminology the author’s argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

First of all author’s assumption that number of real estate agents helps in quickly selling of homes is questionable. It depends on which types of homes does the Realty sell like the precious one or the cheap ones. As the cheap homes are larger in number thus more number of agents are required and for the prestige ones less number of agents are required as the prestige homes are also less in numbers.

Secondly, the author assumes that Adams Realty sell home quickly could also mean that they are not selling the home in proper price or they are selling the house in negotiable rates which is not profitable for the seller and in result takes less time to sell the home. Also there is large time span of ten years between the selling of homes from the two Realties. In this time span there could be many changes in the city like population, economy of the city and many others which could lead to such a result of taking more time to sell the home.

Finally author considers the revenue is the measure of selling home quickly through Adams Realty but he fails to consider that revenue is not the only measure he should also consider the profit made by both the Realties. The company having more profit is more successful and thus it would help more properly in selling the homes for the people. To exemplify this situation let us consider that one has a revenue of $80 and other has a revenue of $160 but the expenditure of first one is $30 and second one invested around $140, as a result profit of the first company is more and thus it is more successful.

In sum it could be said that author’s conclusion is based upon the faulty and unconvincing terminology, the author could strengthen his position by scrutinize the situation more properly. Thus the argument could be made stronger by anticipating the above mentioned factors. However, without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.