The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

While it may be true that your home may be in better hands with Adams Realty, the author does not provide a cogent case to establish the argument that Adams Realty leads to selling your home faster and at a good price versus Fitch Realty. This argument is rife with holes and assumptions and not strong enough to conclude that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty.

The author states that homes sell faster with Adams Realty assumption is unclear. The author states his own personal experience from ten years ago. Home selling statistics from ten years ago is not a valid assumption to make about home selling techniques and statistics from the two realty’s now. The author also uses his own personal experience to assert the claim that Adams Realty is more superior. It is unclear who else the author asked, or if the author asked any others, or if any research was done to analyze which real estate company is better. The author can’t solely make an assumption from his own experience. Thus it might be a better solution for the author to conduct a survey or call various customers of both real estate companies that have had their homes sold recently and ask them how long it took their home to be sold? And at what price? And compare that to Fitch real estate customers. Thus a valid representative survey or questionnaire is needed to back the author’s argument.

The author also states that Adams Realty had 40 real estate agents, and Fitch real estate had 25 agents that worked part time. There is an obvious gap between the number of employees with both real estate companies. Possible factors could be that Adams realty may be selling homes faster and quicker due to more employees out on the market. It is not clearly stated also whether Adams realty employees work part-time, full-time, or overtime, while the author has stated it for Fitch Realty. The amount of time and employees that contribute to a job can vary how fast homes get sold heavily. We just don’t know accurately the time commitment unless the author clarifies this by again issuing a valid, representative survey or even getting access to employee’s time cards for the year to obtain accurate records of employee number and time commitment. Thus access to employee and company sale records would be need to back the author’s argument.

Building up on the author’s assumption that Adam realty will sell your home quickly and at a good price, the author also suggests that Adam’s home sales last year (168k) was twice as high as that of Fitch’s average home sales last year (144k). This assumption can’t be made because many external factors can contribute to averaging of home sales such as employee time commitment, selling strategies, employee salary, home quality, customer base: as in do the wealthier customers come to Adams Realty versus Fitch serving the middle class? It is unclear as to where the author is obtaining his average home sale statistics from. To better his argument, the author could interview CEO’s of Adams Realty and Fitch Realty, check company records etc. to better see what factors may have contributed to a higher number of average sales to back the author’s argument.

The author states that Adams revenue was twice as high as that of Fitch’s Realty. How much is “twice as high?” The author also states that homes listed with Adams “sell faster,” how fast is considered selling faster, outside of your own personal experience as an author? The author also states Adams Realty will sell your home at a “good price,” what is considered a good price? Thus there are many flaws in the author’s wording and leading facts to back up the author’s argument that could have contributed to a flawed conclusion.

In conclusion, although Adams realty may be better at selling homes, and may have better customer service or selling techniques leading to more customers. The author’s argument is not strong enough to establish that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty and can sell your home quicker and at a better price.