The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted fact that Adams Realty has 40 real estate agents while Fitch Realty has only 25 agents, many of them being part-time, thus rendering the claim that Adams is ‘clearly superior’ to Fitch, invalid.

Firstly, the argument cannot be held valid based on the claim that Adams have a greater number of agents than Fitch. While it maybe true that most of the 25 agents of Fitch are part-time, there is no certainty that all 40 agents of Adams are working full-time. For all we know, all of their 40 agents may be working part-time. If that is the case, then there is no basis to prove the fact mentioned in the argument. The argument could have been more plausible if the working status of the agents of Adams’ would have been specified as well.

Secondly, it is mentioned that Adams’ revenue was twice as high that of Fitch, with averaged home sales figures of $168,000 and $144,000 respectively. This is again an unwarranted fact as there are no credible sources supporting these numbers. Also, the precise details of Adams’ revenue are obscure. The argument could have been made stronger if it had denoted a credible source reporting these figures and also the other means of revenue, such as advertising.

Lastly, the argument is based on the claim that a home listed on Fitch 10 years ago took 4 months to sell, while a home listed on Adams last year got sold within a month. This is again not plausible since it is not known if Adams Realty took lesser amount of time than Fitch Realty to sell a home 10 years ago, or whether it even existed 10 years ago. Also, it maybe the services of Fitch Realty have improved over these 10 years. The argument would have made a better case if it also mentioned the time period of a home being listed and sold in Fitch Realty recently.

Thus, based on these unwarranted assumptions, the argument fails to make a convincing case that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty.