The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The excerpt from the letter from owner of the towers the manager seems a bit too idealistic. While it might be true that by reducing the water pressure, water wastage might decrease but by no means it is warranted that such a pressure will lead to huge profits. The owners argument is not cogent and fails to present evidence as to how the profits will increase.

To start with, the author clearly states that the readings of water usage beforeand after are not yet available, but continues to assume that it will result in considerable amount of saving. His assumption is based on just a probable guess without empirical data, a probability not necessarily means the only possibility. The question to the existence backing data fails to be answered, and without data a move to reduce water pressure in all towers becomes unwarranted.

Secondly, restricting water pressure does not clearly imply less water usage. Less pressure in the showerhead does not lead to less water being used for the shower, rather it means a longer shower. Even after the pressure has been reduced, the amount of water required by a resident to take a shower will remain the same, a resident cannot obviously leave the shower with a soapy body because the pressure of water is less, neither will less pressure prevent the resident from applying cleaning himself properly. Although it will be naive to not acknowledge that less water pressure will lead to less water wastage even though if its a fraction of what is expected by the owner.

Thirdly, even if we assume that reducing water shortage will lead to less water being used in the shower, the authors conclusion that it will lead to considerable savings is fallacious. Showerhead is just one of the water outlets in the house, he doesn't address the usage of water being at other points in the kitchen like the wash basin or the pot, or the outlets in the kitchen, or the water being used for washing clothes. Without considering the water usage here, it is simply an over-exaggeration that reducing the pressure of water in the showerhead will lead to a drastic amount of money being saved.

Additionally, reducing the water pressure might leave the residents irritated. It is important to address the complaints by the residents on whom the water-pressure-reduction was tested, as that is the feedback that the project has received, and that is the only data point, that too a negative one, for their move. Further step taken by the management to reduce water pressure across the 12 towers might lead to a revolt by the resident union, and might cause other financial impacts like residents leaving the towers unoccupied.

It is clear that restricting water pressure is not a good way to reduce the water being used, rather it might counteract in different ways. Such a move will lead to residents being agitated not only at the limited water pressure but also at the management for not answering the questions stated. Other more well researched and analysed methods can prove to be a solution, such as increasing awareness in the society to save water, or using dry pots across the towers.