The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment's suggestion to restrict water flow of all of its apartments to increase profits seems axiomatic at a glace. However, there are some questions the author needs to answer in order to evaluate the validity of the argument.

First enquiry the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment needs to answer is to show the evidence that restriction applied to the first three buildings resulted in considerable savings. Even the author states that the bill is not yet available, meaning that the author's claim is not based on a solid evidence. Also, even if it turns out that the apartment complex has saved a lot of money, the author still needs to give concrete evidence to answer if that savings is a long-lasting result.

Second, the author of the letter needs to provide answers of characteristics and conditions of residents in the first three buildings. The owner asserts that the new restriction is successful since there was only a few complaints and no problems with showers. Nevertheless, the owner failed to rule out all the possible variables; it could have been vacation season where many people vacated their homes, or it could be that not many people are currently residing in those three buildings, which inevitably leads to a small number of responses. The author needs to show the percentage of the complaints and conditions of the season and residents in order to effectively bolster the claim.

Third, even though the restriction policy turned out to be successful in the first three buildings, the owner still needs give an answer on which the same results would be drawn out in all other buildings. The author falsely equates the conditions of the first three buildings and all other buildings without giving any evidence. It is entirely possible that residents in other buildings are more fickle and sensitive regarding their shower environments, thus leading to increased amount of complaints.

Lastly, the owner is required to provide a response regarding the cost and benefits of the restriction policy. Here, the author supposes that reducing money on water usage will engender dramatic increase of profits. The owner's claim is based on an assumption that water usage bill is a large portion of costs; nonetheless, the owner fails to consider other factors that could have even larger portions in the entire expenditure. Perhaps, installation of the new shower fee could be extremely costly that the savings seems rather negligible. Additionally, residents might leave due to poor shower conditions, and the apartment complex could become less attractive to potential customers as well, which would rather result in decrease in profits. Also, the author has to put into consideration about advertisement, marketing, and administration fees in which the markets could be unstable, thus advancing the cost.

All in all, the owner's contention is unsound; the author should answer all the aforementioned queries in order to strengthen the claim.