The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager. "One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner in this prompt argues that modifying shower heads throughout all of Sunnyside Tower's apartment complexes will lead to increased savings. While this may hold true, the owner relies on a series of shoddy assumptions that do not provide adequate context needed in order to make a proper business decision. By evaluating the short-term costs of cutting down on water, he/she fails to measure potential long-term costs that could prove vital to Sunnyside Tower's bottom line.

To begin with, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex does not thoroughly examine his customer demographic in his/her assumptions. The prompt states that their were only "a few complaints" regarding the water pressure. If the majority of tenants in the buildings were university students and this was done in the summer, it is likely that the manager will receive an abundance of negative feedback as the fall semester begins. It may be possible that this is not the case, and the tenants truly don't mind. But it is not enough to guide such a drastic business decision.

Furthermore, the owner does not consider the future impacts of cutting water pressure. In a recent poll from the Wall Street Journal, 15% of readers said a "nice, hot shower" is one of their simple pleasures in life. Cutting the water pressure may disrupt tenants' core, daily rituals. In turn, they may not lease from the same apartment again. The aphorism "the customer is always right" resonates with this situation; the owner may be sacrificing potential long-term business for short-term gains.

Expense reports related to water and plumbing were not presented. Water is typically seen as a small cost in business. Expenses related to restricting water flow - such as repairmen, new pipes and plumbers - might potentially cost more than the savings attributed to less water usage. If the difference in cost between normal water pressure and the reduced water pressure is negligible, it may cause future losses in the form of increased expenses. Proper costs related to the adjustments are needed in order to make a guided decision on whether to expand the modifications to the other buildings or not.

Assuming that cutting water supply will undoubtedly result in improved profits is presumptive. It may be true, but the owner does not make a persuasive, cogent argument backed by proper measurements. The assumptions used are too general to guide a proper business decision.