The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employers are adequately rested is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain critical assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that the thirty percent more on-the-job accidents are all due to the lack of sleep of the workers. This is a causal assumption, which means the memo assumes all accidents are happened because of lacking in rest. Moreover, it is not a valid assumption, because there are many possibilities for an accident to occur. For instance, some accidents may ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.