The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States."For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however,

The author concludes that it would be better that the chain cheese store discontinue stocking the imported cheese and concentrate on domestic cheese. To justify this conclusion the author notes that survey of the Cheeses of the World magazine shows that the subscribers of the magazine tend to buy domestic cheeses. The argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and providing weak evidence.However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little support for the conclusion. Hence, the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated and has several flaws.

First, the argument assumes that because last year all of the five best-selling cheeses at their new store were domestic cheeses, therefore, people prefer domestic cheeses to imported ones. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. For example, it is probable that in the other stors in other regions people buy more imported cheeses. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly states the other stores statistics.

The author also claims that the syrvey of the Cheeses of the World magazine shows the increasing preference for domestic cheeses. This again is a weak and an unsupported assumption as it does not demonstrate the subscribers of the magazine details. To illustrate further, in the survey the umber of the participants is important, also the writer does not talk about the magazine, if it is a domestic cheese magazine then its most of the subscribers perefer domestic cheeses. If the argument provides evidence that the survey is reliable and have enough participants from all over the country then it would be much cogent and convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that the best way to reduce the expenses is limiting the imported cheeses in their inventories since, he believe that people like domestic cheeses. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provide little support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects. As instance, maybe their stores does not provides high quality imported cheeses, or ther price is high in comparision to the competetors. Thus, the reader left with the impression that the author’s evidence is not substantive.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better evidence, perhaps by way of a comprehensive and reliable survey of the customers. Ultimately, to better evaluation of the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what is the costumers’ preference.