The following appeared in a memo from the chairperson of the school board in the town of Saluda.

“for the past five years, Mr. Charles Schade has been the music director at Steel City High School, and during that time the school band from Steel City High hast won three regional band competitions. In addition, the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments at Steel City High has improved markedly over the past five years. Because of such successes at Steel City High, the Saluda school board should hire Mr. shade to plan and direct the general music education programs for the entire Saluda school system.

The chairperson of Saluda school recommends that it is useful to hire Mr. Charles Schade, the music director at Steel City High School, because he achieved prosperities while directing the musical programs at Steel City High, however , this recommendation can not be accepted because it rests on a number of assumptions all of which are questionable.

First of all the chairperson refers to victory in three regional band competition during Mr. Charles directory. It can not be concluded that this success is only attributable to the director and probably some other factors might help this achievement happen. Moreover, the students are not considered, talented students with intrinsic abilities might have had a big role in the band. In addition, the success was solely among regional teams and the chairperson fails to consider regional differences between the two schools. The region of the schools in which the Salunda school is located might be weak or amateur in musical competitions so victory over such teams might not be related to Mr. Charles.

The other problem is that improvement in music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments is ascribed to the director. The first point to touch on in this case is that this improvement probably derives from the university budget dedicated to the music programs. In addition, it is mentioned that this change has occurred after five years so it is not a short time for such improvements in facilities. Another assumption which is not considered is that maybe the university planned for these victories the years before the directory of Mr. Charles and the prosperities came from those plannings.

In the final analysis, the recommendation of the chairperson can not be taken to be correct, as it was mentioned in the body paragraphs, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable and ambiguous. The recommendation can be accepted only if the weaknesses mentioned above are all removed and there must be clear evidence that the prosperity in competition and increase in musical facilities is only attributed to the director, and not some other factors.