The following appeared in a memo from the chairperson of the school board in the town of Saluda.

"For the past five years, Mr. Charles Schade has been the music director at Steel City High School, and during that time the school band from Steel City High has won three regional band competitions. In addition, the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments at Steel City High has improved markedly over the past five years. Because of such successes at Steel City High, the Saluda school board should hire Mr. Schade to plan and direct the general music education programs for the entire Saluda school system."

The writer of the argument recommends that in order to music band of Saluda school succeed and improve, Mr. Schade must be employed to manage the general music education programs. To support this recommendation the chairperson of the school board in the town of Saluda points out that during the past five years, musical band of Steel City High School was very successful due to Mr. Charles Schade ‘S supervision. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the school band from Steel City High School has won three regional band competitions during the past five years because of Mr. Charles Schade’S direction. However, there is no evidence to prove that these hits actually happened because of Mr. Charles Schade’S supervision. For example, maybe these prosperities happened because the members of music band of that school were very dexterous and had many talents in musical field. Or maybe these prosperities happened because the other participants of those competitions were weak and they were not serious competitors for Steel school musical band. Accordingly, we cannot assert that these successes in musical competition were just attributable to the direction of Mr. Charles Schade.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the improvement of the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical appliance at Steel City High School is the result of Mr. Charles Schade’S direction. However, there is no evidence to definitely prove that except Mr. Charles Schades' direction, other factors have not participated in this improvement of musical instruments and music rehearsal facilities. Maybe because of the advances in science and technology, the quality of all musical instruments that were manufactured from five years ago was improved. Or maybe the headmaster of the Steel City High School has expended more money to purchase modern and advanced musical instruments. Either scenario would provide an alternative explanation for improvement in the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that if Mr. Schade will be employed as supervisor for musical band at Saluda school, the musical band of this school will be successful as Steel City High School band was. However, in most cases this is not true. Maybe during the past five years Mr. Schade has enough energy and interest to direct the group of Steel City High School, but now because of rising his age and his busy, he doesn't. Or maybe during the past five years the students that were members of the musical band of Steel City High School had enough talent and capability and interest of music but the Saluda school' students don't have.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.