The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the presented memo, the director recommends that the hospital group collectively start supplying UltraClean as it demonstrated in a few studies more significant effects than the existing hand soaps. At first glance, this recommendation appears logical and the director should be commended for his or her efforts to prevent serious infections. However, presented this way, the argument cannot be fully supported as it rests upon a few unwarranted assumptions. If the manager addressed these assumptions and adjusted the argument in consideration of the following points, he or she would be able to make an even more compelling case for this recommendation.

One of the biggest shortcomings of this argument involves the cited laboratory study to show the superior effectiveness of UltraClean. Although the inclusion of this type of information is recommended, this study needs to be viewed caution and would benefit from more detailed information. For instance, the proven effectiveness may be because the solution of UltraClean used in the study was concentrated. Possibly, it reduced the amount of bacteria by 40% only because of this particular dense form instead of the power of the product itself. Furthermore, critical readers can call into question the methodology of this study as the memo does not present any information regarding how the sample was collected, whether the sample size is representative of the population, or whether the control and treatment groups had the same level of bacteria prior to the study. In order to demonstrate the reliability of the study as a means to illustrate the effectiveness of UltraClean, it would be advisable for the director to look into these aspects and provide relevant information.

Another area of concern in the director’s argument is the assumption that fewer reports in the subsequent test indicate successful reduction of bacteria by UltraClean. The director’s attempt to establish this implied causal relationship merits a careful analysis as there are many possibilities that account for the fact that there were fewer reports in Workby. To illustrate, it is possible that Workby already had a higher level of hygiene than the other hospitals, suggesting that it was not UltraClean that contributed to the implied reduction of bacteria. Another caveat is that the presence itself of the new product as a method to enhance the hospital’s hygiene may have altered patients’ awareness and caused them to wash their hands more frequently. In this case, again, the apparent reduction in bacteria would not be due to UltraClean. Consequently, had the director provided more information in a way that rules out these possibilities, he or she would been able to address these potential concerns and prove the causal relationship to corroborate the argument.

Finally, building on the aforementioned questionable points, the director proceeds to propose installing UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout the entire hospital group. The director makes this far-fetched assertion based on the assumption that all hand-washing stations at the other hospitals have the same type(s) of bacteria that UltraClean could ostensibly kill. Objections could be raised on the ground that, because some types of bacteria are resistant to certain chemicals, UltraClean could turn out to be ineffective outside of the location in which the product was tested. If the director wishes to strengthen the validity of this proposal, he or she would need to show that all hand-washing stations at the other hospitals are rife with the identical type(s) of bacteria that UltraClean is proven to be effective for.

In summary, while the director’s argument is not entirely invalid, the information included in the memo is not sufficient to support the recommendation to replace the current hand soaps with UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital group. It could be considerably strengthened if the director provided all the relevant information mentioned above and elaborated on it.