The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Argument claims that hospital should have Ultraclean at all hand-washing station through our hospital system in order to prevent patient’s infection. Author of the argument adduces information including Ultraclean is more at reduction of the bacteria population than the hospital current usage of soap. Further, there was subsequent test for the soap and there was fewer patients who was infected by bacteria. The argument seems logical at first glance, but there are unsubstantiated assumptions that affect the argument persuasion.

First and foremost, when author said that Ultraclean was forty percent greater than recent hospital usage, he conceals the assumption that in that forty percent of bacteria population is infectious and deleterious. However, bacteria is not all infectious and deleterious, even in human’s body, there are hundreds of thousands bacterial population to cooperate the function of organism. Therefore, there should be evident additional information to afford this idea. Likewise, author assumes that liquid soap that is currently used in hospital could not eliminate infectious and deleterious bacteria. However, the data or statistics which is not shown in argument, does not explain about tractability of current hospital soap.

Secondly, writer adduces the opinion that subsequent test tells that Ultraclean is very helpful for preventing bacterial infection in patients. However, there is unproven assumption that how well the comparison is fitted. For example, subsequent test is held in the hospital where it has many types of operation while the comparison was the physical therapy. Then, this suggestion does not strengthened the point of argument. Furthermore, comparison between two hospitals should have at least similar circumstances. Since there is not so much about the information that shows the atmosphere of each hospital, then it couldn’t be helpful to make conclusion.

In conclusion, since there are unproven assumption from the argument, writer’s conclusion can’t be substantiated in accordance with his illogical reason.