The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham

College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will

double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate.

Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years.

Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford offcampus

housing. Finally,

attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at

Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument rests on many unwarranted assumptions which require more evidences and collective information to back them up. A detailed analysis of the data presented thus far, only weakens the argument.

It is mentioned that the Buckingham enrolment, based on current trends , will double over the next 50 years. More evidence has to be presented , to justify what data exactly prompts to make such a judgement. 50 years down the line , is a very long time- its almost a gap of 5 generations. The way the world is evolving so fast, it may happen that the way education is imparted, may totally change or may be there comes up a new college which provides another educational option for the Buckingham college. So, more evidence and reasoning is needed to come up with a thesis like this, that the enrolment will double in 50 years time. More structured and organised data suggesting the same, would have strengthened the argument.

Another thesis presented which seems to have inadequate data, is that the average rent for the apartment in the town has risen in recent years, this statement doesn’t necessarily imply that the students looking for off-campus housing will find it difficult to afford the same. This is because, no information is given about the trends of the rents for the apartments, normally off-campus students go far. Maybe, the higher class and sophisticated apartments rent has gone up and thereby increasing the averages and, the rent for the normal houses, of say middle class standards, has had no apparent increase in rent. Now, a college going student looking for affordable housing is more likelier to go for a middle class apartment than a high class one. So, channelized data , giving figures about the rents of apartments in the town, which the students are likelier to choose for housing, would have helped substantiate the Director’s argument.

Another fallacious assumption made by the Director of student housing is – New dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham – this is a very absurd statement because, it is primarily the quality of education that makes one choose a college and the quality of accommodation would come at very later stage of influencing a student’s decision of getting enrolled at a college. A student, if impressed by the quality of education imparted by Buckingham, is not happy with the dormitory may find an accommodation outside the college or may adjust to the existing accommodation available. Thus, a dormitory getting students enrolled is a very distinct possibility.

Thus, many points made in the Director’s letter lack plausible data and evidences. More detailed and specific information could have bolstered the argument.