The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

The marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores shows that if he advertise their stores in Exotic Pet Monthly, magazine, it will be helpful to reverse the rate of declining sales and make profits. Also, he documents that the other store, Fish Emporium gives sale increases after they give an advertisement in Exotic Pet Monthly. The argument seems very logical at first glance, but there are partly unstated assumption that would affect argument negatively.

To begin with, Fish Emporium posted advertisement in Exotic Pet Monthly five years ago and it doesn’t give any clue about recent circumstances; indeed, it can’t give any generalization to recent profits. The fact that Fish Emporium would have 15 percent increase and three franchise stores have profit can’t give any conclusion of having profit of recent times. Hence, to make this statement valuable, this statement should be still valuable even recent times.

Moreover, this argument didn’t assumed three stores of Fish Emporium placed in the Gulf City are not selling goods that Top Dog Pet Stores has because these three stores have profits, which means that it would be very competitive to survive. Eventually, advertisement can’t give Top Dog Pet Stores benefit. Hence, If Top Dog Pet Stores have goods that Fish doesn’t have and very competitive to them, then argument will be plausible to understand.

Also, Fish Emporium is not Top Pet Stores which means advertisement would have the same effect as Fish Emporium does advertise on Exotic Pet Monthly. Just because Top Pet Stores are having an advertisement on Exotic Pet Monthly, it doesn’t mean that customers are going to their store and buy their items and goods; they probably don’t have the same effect as Fish Emporium has. So, there should be an assumption that advertisement would have the same effect when any stores advertise.

In conclusion, when those unstated assumption explained clearly in the argument, it will logically make argument more comprehensible. Finally, marketing director of Top Dog Pet store discussion is going to valuable.