The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo provided by New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo Inc., the author has argued if a Hobby Shop is opened in southeastern Grildon then it will have a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers. The conclusion is based on three arguments, which fails to properly support this claim.

The author cites the results from a poll in which 88% of the participants responded that they would welcome the opening of a hoppy shop in southeastern Grilldon. With no details on how the poll was conducted and what types of questions were asked in the poll, it would be fallacious to assume that opening the hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon will be successful. Also, since the consulting company suggests that the shop should be opened in southeastern Grilldon, it is important to know the places where the poll responders stay. It might be possible that the people who responded in favor of opening the hobby shop do not reside in southeastern Grilldon – under such a circumstance would they be unwilling to travel across town to visit a hobby shop? It is likely that a hobby shop exists near their home and people may not visit the new shop. In that case the company will not get the desired results.

The consulting company then supported the claim by indicating a 300% increase in the hobby business in Grilldon during the past decade. However, it did not provide any proof to support this claim. From where did the company get this data? Also, how much does a 300% increase amount to in numbers? Is there a hobby shop in Grilldon which can cater successfully to the requirements of those who indulge in various hobbies? If so, then are people willing to visit a new hobby shop? Unless these points are clarified, there is no guarantee that HobCo will see a steady stream of customers when they open the shop.

Lastly, the company has made an assumption that since Grilldon has a large population of retirees who will spend time in various hobbies the new shop will be a success. However, there is no proof to support this assumption. Retired people may like to spend their free time by travelling to new places, visiting families or even enrolling themselves in libraries and social work. Under these circumstances they are unlikely to develop a new hobby and thus visit a hobby shop. Unless, there is proof that retired people are likely to pursue old or new hobbies and visit a hobby shop for the same, it is fallacious to come to a conclusion as has the consulting company.

Thus, I would like to conclude that unless the above questions are answered by the consulting company it would not be a correct decision to open a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon with the expectation of getting a steady stream of enthusiastic customers.