The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

The argument makes a number of unwarranded assumptions regarding the recommendation to build next HobCo Hobby Shop in the southeastern Grilldon. Taken as a whole, these unstated asssumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, then the argument totallu falls apart.

The argument assumes that 88 percent of responded people would welcome the opening of a hobby shop. However, it is not clear the scope and validity of their survey. The sample, for example, may not have been representative of the city residents, asking residents who do not live in this region. Unless the the survey is fully representative, valid and reliable it can not be used for proving the author’s statement.

Another unstated assumption the argument makes is that the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade in Grilldon. Nevertheless, it is unclear where the author found this numbers. He did not mention any source. Without proof of it , these numbers can not be reliabe.

Besides it, the author mentioned that Grilldon has a very large population of retirees. However, it is unclear how the author evaluate the population ot retrees. For instance, he could compare this numbers with numbers of retrees from one street. Of course, the population of retrees from Grilldon is large, because this is whole region. Without accure percents or numbers this assumtion is clearly unstated.

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that is seriosly undetermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed falls apart, and the president of HobCo should make a mistake choosing southeastern Grilldon as the site for his next HobCo Hobby Shop.