The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

Argument states that Appian Roadways had build a route, in another part of state, which is in good condition for the past four years, where as the surface of a section of route build by Good Intentions Roadways stated showing cracks with dangerous potholes. Author argues, in broad terms, that as the route built by Appian Roadways is more sturdy, they should hire Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all their new shopping malls. This argument lacks persuasive logic and is full of loopholes and assumptions.

The author states that surface of a section of Route 101, built by Good Intentions Roadways, is badly cracked and has a number of dangerous potholes. Author fails to acknowledge that there might some problem with that part of land, instead of the construction process of Good Intentions Roadways. For instance, It might the case that earth beneath the road might not be rigid enough to hold the road properly, hence surface of that section withered away. There might also be a chance that the said section of the road goes through severe weather changes, like intense heat followed pouring rain, which could cause such rapid deterioration. Hence, the condition of one section of road might not be a clear indication of construction material used or construction practices adopted by Good Intentions Roadways.

Similarly, only a section of Route 40 is in good condition since the last four years, and author holds this section as a proof of quality delivered by Appian Roadways. But he doesn't dwell into state of other section, or other routes build by Appian Roadways. In general, argument should have more exhaustively checked the routes built by respective roadways. More routes should have been scrutinised, taking average state of each section of the route instead of picking random section from a route.

Moreover, we also cannot compare these sections as they are in another part of the state. As stated above, the weather conditions might be different, or the land composition might have an affect of how the road is kept together. Author should have taken examples from similar part of the state for both the construction firms.

Author states that Appian Roadways, uses state-of-the-art construction machinery, and has a quality control manager. But it doesn't states if the construction machinery affects the robustness of the road. It might be possible that construction material used might play a bigger role in sturdiness of the road, instead of the machinery used to built it.

Examining and analysing these angles, the argument does not justify hiring Appian Roadways over Good Intentions Roadways. While there might be a chance that Appian Roadways builds more rugged roads than Good Intentions Roadways, there is a need for more research on construction practices of both firms before choosing one over other.