The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of the food distribution company claims that they should stop working with Fly-Away Pest Control Company and return to the Buzzoff Pest Control Company because the amount of food destroyed due to pesticides were much lower when Buzzoff was taking care of it. The author of the memo suggests several reasons that seems like they are upholding the author's claim, but it is rife with holes and assumptions which will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the vice president presents an evidence showing that after signing a contract with Fly-Away, the amount of food that were destroyed by pesticides were over $20,000 worth, on the contrast, when Buzzoff was dealing with it, only $10,000 worth of food had been destroyed. This might seem like a viable proof, however, the author needs to be clear of how much worth of food were being stored and the percentage of food that were destroyed by the pesticides on each of the two cases. Even if $20,000 seems like much more than $10,000, only 10% of the food could had been destroyed by pesticides when working with Fly-Away, while 20% of the food had been destroyed by pesticides when working with Buzzoff. Only with the numerical amount of worth that were damaged by pesticides given is not enough to identify the relativeness between the two companies.

In addition, as a follow-up of the paragraph above, even though $20,000 worth of food had been destroyed by pest damage, it is obscure whether pest damage was the dominant cause of food being destroyed. There could have been other causes that destroyed the food and got infected by pesticides. Food can be damaged in multiple ways simultaneously. Maybe the whether was much warmer than when Buzzoff had been dealing with the safety of the foods, and because of the relatively warm temperature, the food rotted easily and were damaged first by the temperature. For the vice president to uphold his/her claim with such evidence, he/she would have to be more clear with whether pest damage was the dominant reason in destroying the stored food for each two companies.

Lastly, the location of where each two companies were responsible with the safety of the food differs. Fly-Away provided the pest control services on Palm City, while Buzzoff provided their service on Wintervale. For the quality of their service to be compared with justice and equality, the location would have to be the same. Mainly because just as mentioned above, the food that are stored in Palm City may be two times more than those that are stored in Wintervale. In this case, then even though the worth of food that were damaged in Palm City is two times bigger than Wintervale, still same percentage of food were destroyed.

To sum up, even though the claim and the following evidence that the vice president presents might seem plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memo in various perspectives, it is confirmed that it is not plausible. For the vice president to fully uphold his/her claim, he/she would have to provide substantial information about and not make a mistake of bringing two data that clearly has a great possibility of unable to be compared.