The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

It may be true that company should find solutions to lower the pest damage of food at fast-food warehouse in Palm City. However, the evidence provided by the author is not substantial enough to help evaluate whether changing Flay-Away Pest Control Company at warehouse in Palm City to Buzzoff, the previous one, is truly the best solution. Lacking relevance and substance, the evidence renders the author’s argument rather weak, and thus unlikely to convince the company to return to Buzzoff for all their pest control services.

Suggesting pest damage cost at fast-food warehouse in Palm City, the author refers to over $20,000 worth of food destroyed by pest damage in last month. The scope and depth of information, however, is insufficient. Specific report on the food damage would help evaluate how pest control service by Fly-Away has influenced on the extent of the damage. The report may reveal that the some food had already infected before contracting with Fly-away, weakening the author’s call to address problems with Fly-Away’s pest control service. Also, food damage reports from previous month are required to evaluate whether this problem can be interpreted as a perpetual rather than transient concern. Evidence may refute the argument, bringing to light a temporary increase in disease and insects due to seasonal influence or a certain epidemic diseases. Specific details on this report would help determine whether the argument should be considered.

Building on the fact in support that food infection increased last month, the author compares the service from Fly-Away Pest Control Company with the Buzzoff, their previous long-term partner. However, verifiable comparative data on both warehouses and pest control companies should be offered. The condition and food safety policy of warehouse of Wintervale could be different from that of Palm City. It is possible that the food in Wintervale is less infected, for it has more moderate weather and strict food safety policy. The information on type of fast-food stored in each warehouse should also be demonstrated, for vulnerability to pest is largely contingent upon the sort of food. Furthermore, the method of killing insects would be disparate for both companies. The effectiveness of pesticide of Wintervale could be powerful at first, but lack in durability since it develops a tolerance.

The vice president’s argument that changing the pest control company to the previous one for all their pest services may seemingly reasonable. The contingency of the author’s argument, however, is subject to the unspecified evidences. The more relevant proof should be offered to accurately assess the argument’s strength or weakness.