The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument is unsatisfied with the Fly-way Pest Control Company which produced greater damage to their food than the Buzzoff pest control services. The author concludes the argument stating that returning to Buzzoff would help him saving money. But the argument is rife with holes and assumptions on which the author derived his conclusion.

Firstly, the author of the argument stated that the worth of the food destroyed by Fly-Away Pest Control is higher than Buzzoff last month. But he never described what type of food were stored in Palm City and Wintervale warehouse. There is a chance for storing different kinds of food with varying expiration date and nature of food. Hence it is plausible for the Palm City warehouse to have food that are more prone to the pesticides or with less expiration date. So, the author made an assumption that both the warehouse has the same kind of food stored.

Secondly, the author failed to define the ratio of food stored to the ratio of food damaged and the area of the warehouses. The plausible scenarios would include the ratio of 2:5 as food destroyed to food kept in warehouse. While Buzzoff might have the ratio of 1:10. Hence there is a discrepancy in the ratio of food between two warehouses. The concentration of the pesticides used by Fly-Away could be higher than the Buzzoff which would have led to the greater damage to foods.

Moreover, the total area of the warehouses are presumed to be same to conclude the worth of damaged food at Palm City is high. However changes in warehouse area might pose some variations in the conclusion. In addition, the author didn't state the reason why they shifted to Fly-Away Pest Control company from Buzzoff. The author might have to mention the reason whether he moved because of Fly-Away's low cost or was the Buzzoff unavailable to sign contract or was there air was filled infallibility of Fly-Away Pest Control.

Finally, the author concludes that in order to save money he has to return to Buzoff which presents an unstated assumption that the loss made by Buzoff last month is less than the profit he acquired as a whole.