The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing."During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than

While the recommendation of the author, adducing shorter work shifts and lower on-the-job at the nearby plant, for reduing working hours of employees at Quiot Manufacturing may sound plausible at first sight, a closer review sheds light on a plethora of understated assumptions in the arguments. These invalid assumptions could dampen the effectiveness of the president\'s proposal.

To begin with, the author assumes a causal relationship between shorter working hours and lower on-the-job accidents at Panoply Industries plant. No concrete evidence, however, are provided to substantiate the correlation between the two. There are many factors that can contribute to low on-the-job accidents. For instance, may be the machines at Panoply Industries plant are more up-to-date and safer to the operators. It is also not impossible that workers at Panoply Industries plant are more skilled and experienced, preventing them from making mistakes at work. Before answering these questions and others alike, the author is too reckless to conclude that shorter work shifts equals to lower accident rate.

Additionally, the validity of the comparison made by the author is itself questionable. In the memo, the vice president only metioned the proximity in location between Quiot Manufacturing and Panoly Industries plant; nonetheless, this does not necessarily mean that there are similarities between the two entities. Imaginably, if Quiot Manufacturing makes furniture, and Panoply Industries plant assembles digital divices like cell phones, then it would not be so surprising that employees at Quiot Manufacturing suffer more from on-the-job accidents. Were the president to figure out the real problems that leads to this high rate of accidents, he or she would need to compare Quiot with other manufacturers that make similar products.

Last but not least, even though longer work shifts does lead to more on-the-job accidents, the decision made by the president to reduce work shifts at Quiot Manufacturing by one hour is still ungrounded. Again, the author here posits that providing employees with the same amounts of rest and sleep as those at Panoply Industries plant would lower the number of on-the-job accidents. Enough rest is necessary, but it is not expected to totally follow the practice at the nearby plant. Is is likely that tasks at Quiot Manufacturing is more demanding so workers there need even longer time for relax? The author should be aware of the differences between the two factories and make decisions based on the real needs of employees at Quiot Manufacturing.

In conclusion, it might be true that Quiot Manufacturing ought to shorten the work shifts to prevent workers from getting too fatigue, as an effort to avoid on-the-job accidents as many as possible. But the author\'s arguments are built upon some assumptions that are not proved to be true, thus severely undermining the potential outcome of the reform.