The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that when XYZ uses Delany Personnel Firm, which is better than Walsh Personnel Firm. There are three reason that Delany is better than Walsh: Delany found job offering much more quickly than Walsh Personnel Firm, Delany’s fine for usage is less expensive than Walsh, and Delany has bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. This argument seem firmly logical in exposition, but there was multifarious unsubstantiated evidences that aggravate the argument.

First of all, there is no evidence that comparison between Delany Personnel firm and Walsh Personnel Firm is not remarkable at its stance. Whereas the argument purports that Delany Personnel firm finds the job within six months, Walsh Personnel Firm is showing that only half of the laid-off employees are hired within 9months 8years ago. Walsh Personnel Firm 8years ago doesn’t represent the general vision of Walsh Personnel Firm because it doesn’t ameliorate the fact that recent time of Walsh Personnel Firm work the same process as they were 8years ago.

Moreover, argument doesn’t show the evidence that how much efficiency could be when laid-off employee were hired; do Delany Personnel Firm consider about laid-off employee’s interest? In the argument, there is not so much information in that condition. If Delany Personnel Firm doesn’t consider about the salaries, position, or even interest of laid-off employee, then it should be easier to make people hired. There can be valuable reason for having a delay of taking a job in Walsh: they probably consider about employee’s interest, company’s taste and all backgrounds of employee. Therefore, there should be enough explanation which job accepted from the Delany.

Lastly, there is no evidence that bigger staff and larger number of branch offices are valuable as they judge the efficiency. More staff and more offices are not meant to be more efficient and stronger strategy to help laid-off employee. There should be sufficient reason that number of staff strengthen on gathering various and bigger information of finding a job. If not, then the argument doesn’t quite seem reasonable.

Conclusively, argument about having a job from Delany Personnel Firm is aggravated by unproven evidence, but when argument intensify argument with those three concealed evidence, then it will buttress the argument that XYZ should use Delany Personnel Firm more than Walsh Personnel Firm.