The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In order to attract new listeners and secure KNOW radio's future, the station should change its format from rock-and-roll music to news. This alteration worked well in the neighboring cities therefore author surmises that repetition of this expericence will have similar result for the radio station. Despite the evidences which are given to us by author, we need to take closer look at them in order to gauge soundness of argument.

First of all, KNOW is specialized in rock-and-roll music, the number of listeners over fifty years of age has skyrocketed but overall size of audience has declined. The proposed shift in formats supposedly will lead to improvement of the situation. However, the author's assumption that listeners of the radio station want to listen news is, perhaps, fallacious. The reduction of number of listeners may not be connected with the content of the station but rather with the modern trend. Today when the internet has become widespread and ubiquitous peple switch their attention on online radio and other services which allow listening radia via computer, cell or smart phone. In fact, a classical wave radio may become obsolete. What is more, the increase in the number of listeners may signalize that the public like the content of the station. People over age of fifty, probably, love music of their youth, besides, many of elderly have problem with usage of internet technology and therefore keep using analagous radio stations. In other words, the change of content may be a significant mistake which may cause the drastic decline of number of listeners.

The writer uses one additional evidence: that local music store reports drop in sales of recorded music. Although the author of the argument tends to interpret this data as support for his conclusion, some althernative reasons may lead to the decline. First of all, the internet and such services as iTunes and Amazon allow downloading music through the web into mobile devices. This technology is remarkable convenient and allows to buy one track instead of purchasing the whole disk. Moreover, the assortment of the store may be old or does not match with preferences of custormers, thus, the decline in sales of a music store is a weak support for the conclusion.

The strongest evidences of the writer is that similar change has had benevolent aftermaths for neighboring cities. However, this fact may be used only in case these areas are similar. We have not got this data, therefore, probably, tastes of local residents may not be the same as ones of neighborings towns.

In conclusion, the swithc in formats of radio content may not lead to expected result. Unfortunately, the writer does no manage to create strong support for his claim therefore the concequences of the change are questionable.