The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Manager of WWAC radio station asserts WWAC radio station should change the format as a news and a talk from current rock-music format so that radio station will increase number of listener. He adduces the evidence that cause of population growth occurred from people coming here after their retirement; this reason will give the idea that radio station should follow their taste. On the other hand, in local sales of recorded music showed that people lacked interest of music, he certainly has to change the format of radio station instead of music part. The argument seems logically sound at first glance, but there are unsubstantiated evidences that affect argument.

First of all, argument adduces that population growth will affect representative of listeners growth rate in this region. People coming here are not people who listen the radio station; moreover, they are not meant to be here to listen music. They came here because this region has generous rehabilitation or marvelous recreational activity. As argument explained above, people coming here are usually retired; they would have different interests. Therefore, there should be enough explanation why do retired people denotes representation of listener’s growth rate.

Secondly, local sales of recorded music did not represent why WWAC radio station should change their format. Local sales of recorded music explained that since there was decreasing rate of selling a music, radio station should change the new format. However, local sales of recorded music are different franchised store where they are not belong to radio station. This evidence lost their argument by not showing the statistics of their sales; in other words, they only showed “decline in local sales of recorded music” because they only showed that they lost their profit. Further, we as reader did not recognize what kind of music that local sales of recorded music is selling. This part will make a doubt why they lost their profit.

Last but least, the argument adduces that there is other radio station that is increasingly popular with format of news and interview. However, there is not so much relevant and representative evidence that if WWAC radio station change the format as similar as other radio station, they will gain more listeners. If WWAC radio station status is shown as beneficial after changing the format, then condition of changing format will be valid.

In closing, consider the flawed evidence that showed above, and change the argument correctly, the argument will have possible reasons that support the idea of having a new format including news and interview.