The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserts that the new generating plants will not be necessary since the total demand for electricity in the area will not increase. However, the argument is unpersuasive as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the consumers will actually reduce the energy consumption as it was indicated in the surveys. However, it is likely that the surveys were conducted to the small number of biased groups. For instance, if the survey spots were in front of the buildings of the environmental organizations or in the classes of environmental studies major, they would have agreed to reduce their energy for the protection of the earth. Therefore, the number and scope of respondents might strengthen or weaken the author's argument.

Second, it is presumed by the author that using energy efficient products will ensure the reduction in energy use. However, this is not warranted. It is unknown whether people will buy the energy efficient appliances even if it was provided at a higher price. Even when they buy the energy efficient appliances, it is possible that people become lenient about electricity use based on a strong belief that their appliances will not consume too much energy. Therefore, regardless of the marketing or selling of the energy efficient goods, it is uncertain whether the total demand will diminish. Thus, whether these appliances will be sold and actually contribute to the reduction will corroborate or damage the author's argument.

Lastly, the author asserts that the additional construction of power plant is not necessary. However, this is not evidenced as well. Considering that the three existing plants have been used for the past twenty years, it is possible that they might not be working as well as they have been. Therefore, it is not proven whether the supplies of electricity will be reliable as it used to be. Thus, the reliable supplies by the existent power plants in the future might support or refute the author's argument.

To sum up, the author's assumption that additional construction of power plants is not necessary is fallacious. The information about the number and scope of survey respondents, the actual reduction expected from the introduction of energy efficient appliances, and the reliability of the three power generators might strengthen or weaken the author's argument.