The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company."Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appli

In this argument, the author concludes that a electric power company does not have to build new generating plants. To support his claim, the editor points out that recent surveys showed that people were increasingly eager to conserve energy. Also, the arguer indicates that because of new techonologies the demand for electricity will decrease. Furthermore, he suggests that three generating stations for twenty years ago have already met the needs for electricity. However, these do not constitute a logical argument fot its conclusion, and fail to present substantial support, making the case vulnerable.

To begin with, the argument omits two aspects of the study - time and authenticity. Although these studies have been recently issued, the argument does not clearly define the time frame of the studies: Whether they were conducted recently or in the past. Moreover, the argument does not throw light on the researchers, or their works has been acknowledged or published by a recommended body overseeing these studies. The study would cogent had it included the methods and instruments used for this specific study. Thus, predicting the increasing number of people who eager to save up electric power seems unreliable if the above factors are not included.

Another threshold probme is that the author fails to establish a causal relationship between the new technologies and a slightly decline in the total demand for electricity. It is higher possible that other factos contribute to a decrease for power’s need. For instance, inviduals may consume woods for generating heat since woods are much cheaper than electricity. Or perhaps because of global warming, the winter is less cold than before so that human do not have to utilize much power to warm themselves. Therefore, without ruling out these possibilities, we cannot justifiably conclude that new technologies are the reasons to reduce the demand for electricity.

Moreover, the arguer cliams that the construction of new power stations is unnecessary because the three current power plants are enough to provide energy for the residents. This assumption is unwarranted because things rarely reamin the same over extend period of time. There are likely many differences between now and future. For example, since these three generating plants have operated for 20 years, it is likely that some of machines in the sations are too old to be used. Thus, the electric company has to build a new one with advaced mechaines. Moreover, it is probably that there will be an increasing number of people who desire to use powers because they are convinent. To meet the need for electric power, electric firms may add more power plants. Any of these scenarios, if true, would serve to undermine the claim that the current generating plants are enough to provide energy in the future.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate his claim that the construction for new generating plants will be not necessary becasue the evidence cited does not lend convincing support to what the arguer maintains. To make the argument more convincing, the speaker out to present more information about the authenticity of the studies, a correct causal relationship, and other factors which would influence the future.