The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

The following newsletter is highly encouraging its readers to invest their money into Techcorporation (a satellite technology development company) because it has been approved by the FTA and that surveys have illustrated that customers have been dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider. This advice should not be followed because it based on unstated assumptions and ill-defined evidence.

First, Techcorporation's functioning and business model is never explicitly defined. Based on the newsletter, investors have little to no information about what this company does or the quality of the company. The only information given is that it "has developed satellite technology that has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider". There is no quantitative evidence stating the quality of Techcorporation's satellite development. Just because it can compete with other current satellite providers does not mean it is the better. More information on how Techcorporation is not only different from the other current satellite providers, but also better (and worth the investment) is necessary before investors can even start thinking of looking into investing into this company.

Second, FTA is also never defined. A majority of the general public will not know what FTA stands for off hand. The statement is assuming that everyone knows what the FTA is and how it important it is (apparently). Without full description of what the FTA is and what it does, it is not wise to assume that they are a credible source.

One piece of empirical evidence that the newsletter does provide is the survey that states that "over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite tv provider and would switch". While empirical data is often used as legitimate and credible piece of evidence, this statement in particular takes it out of context of the current situation. That survey statement ends with "if the industry were not a monopoly". Previously it was stated that the FTA must approve a company before being in competition with other satellite provider. Thus, it is demonstrating that the FTA has power over which satellite providers are the public can choose from. The FTA has control over the satellite provider industry, and because (as we previously stated) it is not explicitly understood what the FTA is and what their intentions are, this industry is its own monopoly. Just because customers are dissatisfied, it does not necessarily mean that Techcorporation will be the satellite company that is outside the monopoly or that customers will flock towards this company over others.

Thus, it would be unwise to invest into Techcorporation with the information given in this newsletter alone. Before investing, it would be important to understand the market trends of the satellite provider industry and FTA's role within it and to fully understand what Techcorporation is and what it does.