The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

In preceeding argument, the author states that shorter sleep time for advertising executives may lead to higher profit for the company, adducing a study covering 300 male and female participants. While at first glance the analysis seems to be quite plausible, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of assumptions that could undermine the valuation of the argument.

To begin with, we do not know how representative are the people involved in the study, and it is reckless for the author to assume that the study is reliable. The average number of hours for sleep per night can be affected by multifarious factors, but none of them were discussed in the argument. For instance, older people tend to sleep less, so age must be considered when choosing the 300 male and female. In addition, how the data was collected in the study remains elusive. As people hardly record their sleep time precisely, the results presented in the study would be flawed if no special method was used to calculate the average time for sleep.

What is more, even if the study is reliable enough, this does not necessarily indicate that the results are sufficiently promising to be taken seriously. Particularly, the author only mentions the positive correlation between shorter sleep hours and higher profit and faster growth, whereas no further information is given regarding with how strong the correlation is. If the relationship found in the study is so weak that it has little practical meaning, then it would be futile for any advertising firm to have executives who sleep less.

Last but not least, the recommendation above for hiring people who need shorter sleep hours is based on an assumption that sleep hours in some way reflect the ability to be an executive. Nonetheless, although this relationship is revealed by the study, it might simply be ostensible and may not be a causal relationship, makign understanding true attributes that make good leaders crucially important. It is possible that people requiring less sleep are more likely to worker longer, so it would be more beneficial for advertising companies to hire hard-working people, instead of those spend most of their time playind and relaxing.

In conclusion, advertising firms ought to find and hire executives that are more likely to bring prosperity and profit, but the recommendation proffered in the business magazine are rife with ungrounded assumptions. Therefore, it is not convincing in showing that having executives who averagely need less than 6 hours for sleep is are desired leaders.