The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The excerpt from the newspaper tries to give an explanation on why the unemployment remains unchanged even after the Dilton city council put in efforts to get more foreign companies to start their centers in Dilton. The author of the article clearly states a probable explanation for the cause, by stating that the new factories that have opened are filled with out-of-town workers therefore the unemployment rate remains unchanged. Irrespective of how probable authors point be, it is naive to assume it as the only possible explanation.

Firstly, What should be established at the very outset is that the unemployement rate refers to the ratio of people who are not working to the entire population. Although, more than 1000 jobs had been created, no change in unemployment rate, could amount to the fact that Dilton might be a highly populated city, because of which a thousand new jobs would not have created a difference in the unemployment rate. The way the unemployement rate is calculated could also be fallacious, it might not include the people who are running their own business or setups, or people in the rural areas. In addition to that, it might be possible that because of new factories setting up, a lot more people came to Dilton for jobs, thus increasing the overall population. Since the author does not talk about the demographics of the country, the population might have a larger younger population or a larger older population who are currently inelligble to work thus affecting the unemployment rate.

Additionally, it might be also possible that as a result of city's flagging economy the organisations which were already there in Dilton are downsizing, that is reducing the number of employees the company has, and the employees who've left the previous jobs have joined the new factories, thus not affecting the overall rate of unemployment. Some of the residents might also at the same time be leaving their old jobs for recreational pupose or to start their own venture, thus nullifying the jobs that were created by the new factories with respect to the employment rate. It would be clearer if the author provided information about the number of workers who left the job at the same time, or the factories that were closed, so that it was possible to deduce the correct explanation for why the rate didn't change.

Furthermore, the author does not mention anything about the neighboring cities. Due to flagging economy, the residents might have moved out of the city to cities with better employment opportunities and a more promising future leaving their old jobs. Such a change in the current scenario of people leaving jobs to find jobs outside is a probable cause to why the unemployment rate did not change.

A detailed analysis along with more statistical information of the proposed explanation along with the all facts will help see the case from all different angles. However, probable it might be that the favtories are staffed with out of town workers, it remains flawed as it does not provide enough emperical data backing the claim.