The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the article in Dillton newspaper states that the only possible explanation for the unchanged unemployment rate in Dillton even after the opening of two new factories is because these factories employ out-of-town workers. While this may be a plausible reason for the unchanged unemployment rate in Dillton, there may be a few other causes, discussed below, which the author has ignored before making his conclusion.

The unemployment rate is the ratio of the total number of unemployed people to the total labor force of a region. There are a large number of factors that affect this ratio. First, the labor force of Dillton may be very high, thus even though two factories have opened and employed people, the net effect on the ratio is miniscule. Second, since two new factories have opened, people from areas adjacent to Dillton may have migrated there in hope of finding job. This will increase the total labor force and in turn have a negative effect on employment rate. The author should also take into account the fact that many people who are unemployed may not be interested in working a full time job, thereby not opting for a job even when it is available, causing no change in the unemployment rate. The author should focus and discuss on these demographics before making his conclusion.

Another possible reason for the static unemployment rate might be that previous employment agencies like factories, shops etc. have shut done or cut the number of employees they can support. Thus, though new factories have opened, the unemployment rate has not decreased. The author has discussed that the council has lowered the city taxes and also given added benefits to companies opening new factories in Dillton. This means that the revenues earned by the council has decreased. To keep pace with the changes in economy, the council might have terminated some of its employees. The loss of jobs will contribute to the number of unemployed people thereby not having the desired effect of decreasing unemployment rate.

Before concluding that the two new factories employ non-Dillton residents and hence the unemployment rate in the city has not decreased the author should consider the above points and negate them.