The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

The assumption of the author in this memo about new factories are staffed more non-resident workers than Dillton residents sounds illogically unconvincing fore several reasons. The author ignores important information and some question needed to be answered in order to decide about author’s conclusion.

First question is raises from the scant statistical information the rate of unemployment, which is define as number of unemployment people on all population. The author does not give any information about the number of people, who lives in the city; hence he can not analyze the rate of unemployment. It is entirely possible entire works in two factories are Dillton residents, while the number of them is too low to change the rate of employment. In addition, many students graduated from the university inters in group of unemployment people. Of course, the author must consider this possibility that many people move in the city after establishing the factories, which increase the population. In short, since the argument relies on the limited statistical information, the author’s result is not acceptable.

Also, the author does not mention the number of factories, which are closed in these years. If some of factories, which were in the city, are closed or at least decrease their labors, because of the economic condition. As a result, the number of unemployment people will be increased while new factories are establishes in the city and they hire about 1000 workers. Therefore, if the author does not more information about the number of factories in the city, which closed or opened, the argument is flawed.

Another question is that whether decreasing the city's corporate tax can encourage companies. In fact, it is entirely possible the amount of original tax was so high that decreasing it by 15 percent is not attractive for companies. In addition, the author does not provide any guarantee that establishing new factories in this city can decrease the rate of unemployment and improve economic growth. It is possible factories hire non-residential workers, and surely; residents’ economic condition will remain unchanged.

In the fourth place, base on the fact that two factories have opened in the city, the author infers that efforts of Dillton's city council is successful. However, it is not necessarily the case. Indeed, the author overlook that other factors can be more effective. Having the great number of unemployment people lead factories to have access cheap workforces. Without considering this possible scenario, the author can not justifiably conclude that council’s decisions are successful.

In sum up, the argument is flawed rationally and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more statistical information about the number of workers in the factories, and those are added to group of unemployment people recently. To evaluate better the author’s assumption, we must know about all effective factors on the economic growth.