The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The argument states that a group of rhesus monkeys were chosen to study the effects of birth order on individual’s level of stimulation. Primarily, the results from the study could be limited since the argument considers a limited number of rhesus monkeys. Also, it would be flawed to directly infer that, results from the study of monkeys would be similar to that of humans with respect to the levels of cortisol in the off-springs, increased activity levels and the levels of cortisol related to the mother.

Firstly, the argument considers eighteen rhesus monkeys to obtain clues related to the effects of birth order on individuals. Since the number of monkeys that is studied is limited to a small group, the results would only be related to those individuals being studied. Since the number is limited, it could be assumed that the number of individuals considered could belong to the same family and hierarchy of rhesus monkeys leading to similar results.

Secondly, it could also be that, the hormonal cortisol is not the only reason for increased activity in the older siblings compared to the younger ones. Since the study does not explicitly state any relation between hormonal levels and increased activity among the siblings, it cannot be assumed so.

Thirdly, the finding of the study states that the first-time mother monkeys have increased levels of cortisol when compared to the offspring. This assumption fails to stand for the reasons that, the number of rhesus monkeys considered is limited and also that the study does not consider the effects that other hormones have for the first-time monkey mothers.

Finally, even though humans evolution is tied to that of the ape family, it would be an err to assume the results obtained from the rhesus monkeys apply for the human beings as well. The study fails to state the relation that the rhesus monkeys have to the humans in order to extend the results to that of the humans, as stated in the above reasons.