The following appeared as a part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

It appeared in a letter to the editor of scientific journal that: in a study of eighteen rhesus monkeys it provided a clue the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations the firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of hormone called Cortisol. Cortisol is the hormone which primes the body for increased activity levels as do their younger siblings. It is also studied that the firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. The study also found that during the time of pregnancy first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than the other one's who had several offspring. This argument ultimately fails as it lacks the proper evidence and is unconvincing and has several major flaws.

The author asserts that the study was done on eighteen rhesus monkeys which provided the information about different levels of stimulation of individual's. But, in my opinion this is unconvincing as author should have mentioned who conducted the study and on what basis was the levels of stimulation of individual rhesus monkey decided. It is also asserted by the author that the firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of hormone cortisol which influences there body for more activity. But, the author provides no proper evidence that how did they measure the level of the hormone cortisol in firstborn infants. In addition, it is also to be answered that with whom did the author compare the level of firstborn infant, either the cortisol level decreases with the time period they live.

It is also not being shown that what are the average levels which cortisol should have in the firstborn infants. Further, the author has asserted that the firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. But doesn't provide the evidence on what basis does he claims so and how this study of level of cortisol in rhesus monkey being compared to the firstborn humans. It is also studied that during the time of pregnancy the first-time mother monkeys have higher levels of cortisol than the other who had several offspring. But, this claim also has several fallacies such as on what basis or parameters was that being decided. So, these are the questions which need to be answered.