The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter, the author suggests that birth order has an impact on an individual’s levels of stimulation. The conclusion is based on the facts that are observed in a recent study. At first glance, the argument seems to be plausible; however, there are different ways of interpreting the observed facts, which challenge the argument in the letter. Consequently, the conclusion is not cogent.

With the fist fact that the firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as do their younger siblings. The letter correlates this phenomenon to the birth order suggesting that because these monkeys are born first, they are more sensitive to stimulations. However, there could be other explanations for this fact. It could result from less familiar with the soundings. As mentioned in the letter, in a situation such as encountering unfamiliar monkeys, if an infant monkey has only its parents around it and without siblings, it will encounter less situations, especially dramatic ones, compared with their younger siblings. They are born having old brother or sisters around and will subsequently get more chances of seeing and experiencing various situations. They thus react less intensively to the stimulations. If this is actually the reason, when the firsborn monkey is taken away, the second-born one, who is now alone without siblings, will also produce much higher hormone cortisol when facing stimulations. In other words, the birth order is not the cause.

Similarly, as for the fact that first born humans also produce high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations, this is also credited to the birth order by the letter. Yet, the alternative explanation is their limited sources of getting attention. When they are the only child, they mainly get the attention from their parents. By contrast, being not the only child, a younger child who gets attention from both the patents and the older sibling(s). It therefore does not respond to stimulated situations, such as the return of a parent after absence, as strong as the only child. If this is the reason, the birth order does not lead to the difference in levels of cortisol. Rather, the fact that it is the only child does.

Last, the letter implies that the reason for the first-time mother monkeys to have higher levels of cortisol is because of the order, that is, they are pregnant for the first time. Yet, they are more sensitive to simulations could result from lacking experience. If one has never experienced pregnancy before, they do not know how to deal with some symptoms or changes of the body. Because of not knowing what to do, they are more impressionable to stimulations. For comparison, those who have already experienced and learnt how to deal with different situation are more calm when tackling stimulations. Consequently, they will produce lower levels of cortisol. To further explain that birth order is not the reason, imagine a situation where some monkeys have had offspring previously. Still, due to a long interval, they will still produce higher levels of cortisol.

In conclusion, birth order could precisely explain the facts showed in the study. To make the explanation plausible, the letter needs to provide sufficient evident in order to exclude other possible accounts. Without doing so, the argument in the letter is unsound.