The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it may be true that birth order influences individual's levels of stimulation, the present study extracts its conclusions from a small population of rhesus monkeys and does not explain other factors that may affect the levels of cortisol in firstborn monkeys. Additionally, the letter assumes that the conclusions are applicable for humans without explaining human behavior further. The argument finishes adding that first-time mother monkeys present high levels of cortisol where it is unclear the external influences and the process of pregnancy. Assuming that the study is indeed accurate and represents creditably the behavior of the 18 monkeys studied, this argument can be explained taking into account several situations which could undermine it.

Citing the study in firstborn monkeys, the author presents the evidence but it fails when describing the place where the monkeys live. There is a possibility that monkeys are pacific creatures with normal levels of cortisol, but if a predator would appear and have an encounter with the older monkey, it could have suffer some disorder. This monkey could associate danger when meeting other animals while its siblings would act normally around them. Given that there is no information about the family group, there is a chance where the mother of those monkeys could have died leading that the older monkey assumes the leader role. Monkeys have a sense of family and protection, and while we do not know the group of monkeys for sure, it results inconvenient to correlate birth order to levels of stimulation.

Next, the argument claims that such behavior are present in first-born humans. It is not clear, however, the genetic predisposition that those humans have. Humans are born with a very different set of characteristics even if they are siblings. Studies carried out with twins show that despite their genetic similitude, they can have different responses to stimuli. The older brother could react to a situation independently from the response of his/her younger brother. Therefore, we can find different scenarios where older brothers increase their levels of cortisol and other where they do not.

Last, building upon the fact that first-time mothers exhibit higher levels of cortisol, there is no evidence of the pregnancy history nor the dangers the mother monkey could have gone through. The other mothers could have had a normal pregnancy, but the first-time mother could have experienced a difficulty in the pregnancy leading to an abnormal increase in those hormones. Additionally, the social support of family members can play on the psyche of the first-time mother. The mother that have had several offspring could have been supported by all members of its group in terms of protection from other predators. The single mother, however, has to face the pregnancy alone and all existent dangers.

Monkeys are known for being social animals that live in groups. Its behavior resembles the complex human behavior; thus, it can be difficult to predict it bearing in mind that the environment can modify it. Based on the facts presented in the letter and knowing that the sample is not representative, other explanations can account for such increased level of cortisol under different levels of stimulation.