The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn his conclusion, from the disjointed and incomplete data, that the firstborn infant monkeys produce twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings.

Here the study of the rhesus monkeys is a very low statistical number eighteen, for the precise results the sample should be a far more larger number than eighteen. Also no information is provided about the age, sex, or the individual's capacity to reproduce; Does the mating environment has any effect on the above result is not stated clearly; also the genetical characteristics of the monkeys might have an effect which is not clearly stated.

It is not clear about what kind of the study had been done? It might be on the comparisional basis or it might be on basis of the ages of the monkeys. It is stated that the firstborn infant produces twice as much hormone cortisol, as compared to their young ones. It might be possible that the twice amount of the hormone cortisol is due to the other factors like correct environment and age, or due to the syndromes which induces certain emotions which incerases the activity levels, etc is not clearly stated.

The assumption about the humans is clearly vague in context to the argument of the author as the firstborn humans producing high level of the cortisol in stimulating situation is not met with any kind of proof or study. There is not a single piece of evidence supporting that claim also it is not necessary that only firstborn will produce high level of cortisol, it might be possible for the younger ones also to produce higher cortisol level.

The study reflects that the first-time mother monkeys had higher cortisol levels than the ones who had had several offspring. The statistical data about the number of the pregnant monkeys who shows such levels is not stated, the environment provided to these monkeys might have had its different effect on the monkeys cortisol levels, at the same time the ages of these monkeys might be different due to which cortisol levels are different.

In general, writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of the statistical data. No convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with entirely unjustified conclusion based on wishy-washy observatoins that are likely to be incorrect.