The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument is about the levels of stimulation produced by a human or a monkey. These stimulation depends on the birth order of the offspring. The argument just gives a clue that it might be an effect of birth order but there might be some other reasons as well for an increased level of cortisol.

The argument takes only an example of encounter with an unfamiliar monkey to higher the level of cortisol there might be some other factors which may be resulting in such increase of the hormone. It even states that the first-time mother monkey also experiences such condition. The reason might be fear of losing someone or even it scares the infant on seeing new or unfamiliar faces. As the infants be it of monkey or human have very short memory then tend to forget faces very soon until and unless it is a face they see all the time. Even when they meet their parents after a long time they don't remember their face and get scared these situations according to the argument suggests an increase in level of hormone.

The fact that the fear of losing one's child is more during the pregnancy of the first-time mothers, the tension they go through and experience itself is something they never had before and may seem scary might also be the reason for such increase of hormone.

Argument does not explain the logical reason behind the relatively higher levels of hormone in first born in stimulating situation than his younger siblings. One of the reasons could be that the first born is usually to experience things alone or with the monkeys much elder to them whereas if we look at the situation of younger sibling he /she already have someone with experience with same condition and same family. Younger siblings are not brought up alone they tend to build a different mind-set.

The argument overall fails to explain the stimulating situations that tend to increase the level of cortisol in monkeys. However there is no doubt that argument holds true for the one such scenario that it gives as a stimulating situation. It also very well explains the situation comparing to that of humans. As the history suggests that humans are evolved for monkeys it is quite evident that they are going to show same symptoms and reactions. Thus the argument not completely but has somewhat explained about the relative increase of the cortisol.