The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The city of Amburg, on the other hand, recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district. However, the rate of vandalism here remains constant. Since high-intensity lighting is clearly the most effective way to combat crime, we recommend using the money that is currently being spent on bicycle patrols to install such lighting throughout Amburg. If we install this high-intensity lighting, we will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the statement above recommends that instead of using police patrols in Amburg Chamber of Commerce (A), they should install high-intensity lighting in order to significantly reduce the crimes. The conclusion is based on the comparison between the city of Belleville (B) and the pertaining city. The first city has seemingly experienced an immediate reduction of vandalism and thus the author inclines to emulate the same strategy. There are several vital questions whose answers lead us to evaluate whether the recommendation holds true.

First, the author needs to ask how much the c...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.