The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The argument presented is very narrow in its scope and does not evaluate both sides before making a conclusion. The conclusion of not allowing the road to be built relies on the statistics of the falling sea otter population in the sanctuary on Eastern Carpenteria after its sanctuary status was revoked. While the author presents the claim, he provides no actual data to support it.

It might be possible that the population of sea otters have indeed reduced but not reduced enough to worry about. The numbers might still be very much within the safe limits. It is also possible that with some additional measures, the numbers can be preserved. These are some of the scenarios that he author fails to analyze.

Another problem in making the conclusion is that the author fails to analyze the actual problem that caused the sea otter population to decline. There can be many activities which can lead to the population decline. Thorough study needs to be done on the activities that caused it. It is be possible that some of the activities which caused the decline in the population of sea otters in the sanctuary of Eastern Carpenteria might be impossible to be carried out in the sanctuary of West Lansburg due to topological differences. For example, fishing activities in the sanctuary of Eastern Carpenteria might have caused decrease in the number of fish species that are consumed by sea otters. Such an activity might have no consequence on the numbers of ground hog as fish is not their primary choice of meal. Stricter controls can altogether prohibit or prevent fishing activities thereby having no effect at all.

While the author presents the claim of an effect on another sanctuary, the author does not actually study and present the possible effects of constructing a road through the West Lansburg wetlands. The road construction can take place in multiple phases covering only a small part of the wetland at a time and thus reducing the disturbance caused to the wildlife and ground hogs. Additionally, measures can also be taken to safely displace the ground hog population from the area affected by the proposed road plan before starting the work.

Strict monitoring of vehicles entering and exiting through the road, strong fencing throughout the roads so that groundhogs do not end up on the roads, allowing vehicular traffic only during the time when ground hogs are inactive, limiting the number of vehicles to control pollution, setting up emergency response teams to handle accidents involving humans and animals alike are some of the measures that can be taken to ensure minimal impact on the biodiversity and on the population of groundhogs.

Proper research and analysis on similar lines needs to be done before coming to a decision of not allowing the road to be built. Since the author doesn't do any thing of such sort the argument falls short of the convincing factor and needs more thorough insight.