The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The arguer have cited that the autonomy of any country depends on its borders and if the immigrants are entering a country they are posing a threat to its economy and national identity. So, the arguer further asserts that every effort should be made to return the immigrants to their country of origin. However, there are some points that question the soundness of the recommendation made by the arguer and the argument provides no clear evidence and is unconvincing.

Firstly, the freedom of the country and the independence to people only depends up to certain percent on the strength of its borders. However, the arguer also asserts if the immigrants entering a country are not checked, they may possess threat to economy and national identity. But, the argument doesn't provide evidence to prove that how the immigrants can threaten the economy and national identity. The argument could have been bolstered by providing evidence that could have proved why he have asserted so. The arguer also needs to provide the data about which countries immigrants pose much harm to the country. But, the question arises is that are all the immigrants posing threat to the country? From where are these immigrants being able to enter in the country? Is there no step being taken by the government ? Perhaps, the immigrants might possess threat to national identity and economy but the arguer provides no information about the areas which they are targeting. What could be the reason behind this? The arguer could have provided the reason and the approximate data about number of immigrants which are entering the country to convince the reader. And, also he asserts that if the immigrants are being caught they must return to their country of origin but provides no reason behind his statement. Since, it could happen that the immigrant have been caught with arms and grenades on the border and is it still required that the immigrant should be return to his country of origin without being asked questions or put into jail as a punishment.

Nevertheless, there are several points which arguer needs to provide to make it compelling for the reader and should provide evidences which might have possessed threat to the country earlier due to immigrants to bolster his assertion.