The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument is flawed for many reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on many unwarranted assumptions which aren’t supported by any facts. The conclusion is centered on the theory that the cause of high absence rates is poor health and a better diet will be the solution to the issue at hand.

For one, the argument states the reason for high absenteeism is the common cold or poor health among students and adults. However, there is no evidence to support this statement. There could be a variety of reasons why absence has become common at school and at work, such as, laziness, trying to put off responsibilities, problems at home, or simply not having a method of transportation to get to work or school. Further analysis and details are needed to correctly determine the cause and solution to reduce absenteeism. Employees or students who are missing school and work should be asked the reason for absence and all these reasons must then be accounted for to come up with an appropriate plan to resolve the problem. We cannot assume the reason for absence was sickness in the individual since no evidence is given to support this analysis. Lack of facts and accurate statistics weakens this argument.

More significantly, the argument compares the city in question to another nearby city of East Meria. However, this comparison is not valid until further information is given about the circumstances and environmental conditions of East Meria. The argument directly relates fish consumption with better health. There could be a number of possibilities why residents in East Meria are not likely to get sick, such as better healthcare in hospitals, less pollution, and safer environmental conditions. The argument also does not provide a comparison between the absence rates in the current city to that of East Meria. The possibility still exists that although the population might overall be healthier, absenteeism is just as high in East Meria. City life in East Meria needs to be analyzed and factors such as methods of transportation, daily routines, traffic, as well as occupations and locations of schools must all be given significance. Therefore, the conclusion that more consumption of fish will reduce absenteeism is invalid, because although fish consumption does not prove to be a solution to healthier residents, nor does the argument provide proof it could be a solution to reduce absence among workers and students.

Furthermore, the fact both cities are different needs to be considered. Both cities need to be evaluated as separate entities based on their distinct factors. What works for one city may not work for the other. Although East Meria might have a healthier population, until more information is given on the absence rate, we cannot assume this causes a reduction in absenteeism. There is also no way to determine if fish consumption will make the overall population of the city in question healthier as well as it could be a possibility that fish is not as beneficial to them as it is to the people of East Meria. The city in question could benefit greatly if they provide better methods of transportation or build better road systems to regulate traffic. Since reasons for absence and accurate statistics are not provided, it is impossible to base the solution on mere assumptions.

In conclusion, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it is not a valid basis for change. Further breakdown of the issue as well as background details are needed to determine a solution.