The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that replacing butter by margarine, does not effect the customers' views about their food. The argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluted and he also tries to manipulate facts by providing week examples. He also give some numeric data as well as server information. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reavels that it provides little credible support to author's claim. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assume that survey they conduct, can also imply on other people. To justify this claim he gives explination with some numeric data. This is merely assumptions made without solid ground. For example, he has not provided sufficient data on which this survey conducts and leaves us with some questions, like, how many people's review they consider? how they have not baised towerds margarine? So, we can say that author must provide proof on which bases he asserts that only 2 percent customers have complained about this.

The argument readily rely on servers' claim about customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margaraine instead. He has not given any perticuler server's name. He has also not given numeric data which give answer to question that how many customers have not problem with margaraine instead of butter. Author just try to manipulate public's view regarding butter. If argument have provided sufficient data, it can assert that his both claims are true. Nevertheless, he has not provide sufficient data, we can say that he just try to allege his statement about customers

Finally, in his last statement he has not given information about whom he is talking about. He has not clear which customers can not distinguish between butter and margarine. However, one can clearly know different taste of food which is made with margarine instead of butter. So,it is not fruitful for their restaurants' reputations. Because of one minor mistake, it can cost huge amount to him and his restaurants.

In the conclusion, I just want to say that this kind of greediness of manager can lead to huge lost to his restaurants. Manager should concentrate to his restaurant's reputation. Manager should give some potential evidence to make his assertion strong. He also give information regarding numeric data that how they have calculated.