The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants."Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little im

The author argues here that replacing butter with margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants across southwestern United States have not caused dissatisfaction in its customers, adducing a small complaining rate. While the explanations proffered by the business manager may sound reasonable, a closer review shed light on some other possible, even contradictary, explanations.

To begin with, the manager asserts that most customers are happy with the change, citing that the restaurant only received complaints from 2 percent of customers. It is unclear, however, whether the number of customers has changed. In this case, a probable explanation is that quite a large proportation of customers dislike margarine, so they simply switched to other restaurants selling similar products. Or alternatively, most customers do not like complaining when they are not happy with the restaurant, especially when they cannot get butter immediately even though they complain. Therefore, it is likely that the change from butter to margarine has considerably affected customers.

Additionally, being unable to distinguish butter for margarine or using the word "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine, the customers may not complain when they are buying margarine at the restaurant. But without concrete evidence, this does not reliably account for customer's behavior. Arguably, we can not rule out the possibility that customers use the term "butter" because they are used to doing so, and they are clearly aware of the change in the restaurant, so they think using "butter" will not cause confusion. Many customers may be able to tell butter from margarine, but there is no need to be that clear, for both customers and servers know what they refer to. If the two are both available at the restaurant, some customers would be more precise.

Last but not least, many other factor can contribute to the response from customers. For instance, is there a significant drop in the price of the products after stoping using butter, making the customers less willing to complain? Have the servers at the restaurant accurately recorded customer\'s reactions and reported them to the manager? Without convincing answers to the questions above, the explanation of the manager just would not stand.

In sum, the business manager\'s explanations on people\'s reaction to margarine at Happy Pancake House restaurant is not totally impossible, but many different explanations can be given based on the facts in the memorandum. We cannot tell which reflects the fact until further information is available.