The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that since the television station has devoted more time to national news, there has been a number of complaints received as well as cancellations with local businesses that used to advertise on this television station. Thus the business manager believes that in order to attract more viewers and increase their revenues, the television station sould resort back to more time devoted to the weather and local news. At first glance, this argument seems convincing, however, careful scrutiny and further investigation is needed to strengthen the author's statement.

First and foremost, the author states that most of the complaints they have received were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. The author fails to provide any information on the statistics or numbers of these complaints as well as the specific content of these complaints. Were there already a number of complaints before the station switched over to the national news program? If so, how many? Perhaps the number of complaints have actually decreased over this time? There is no comparison as to how much these complaints have changed from before and after the station increased their time devoted to national news. Furthermore, the content of the complaints is not specified. What exactly were the viewers unsatisfied with? Was it the actual length of time of the programs, or the TV anchors themselves that were hosting the programs? Again, no information is provided and therefore the aforementioned argument does not help strengthen the author's claim.

Second, the author states that local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts with the televison station. The author does not provide any evidence of correlation between increasing time to national news and cancellations of these contracts. Could it be that the number of contracts were already declining from before the television station switched over? How many contracts were there to begin with? Is there perhaps a newer, more innovative television station that the viewers have now switched to followed by these advertising companies? Perhaps the advertising companies have switched over to different methods of advertising such as the radio or the internet? Again, other options need to be investigated as to why these contracts were cancelled before the author can assume that these cancellations were due to the increased time to national news.

Other factors also need to be taken into consideration as to why this television station has lost its viewers. Perhaps the audience is no longer interested in news or weather at all, and are more concerned with entertainment, reality TV shows and celebrity gossip? A detailed analysis of viewership during hours of all programs on the television station is needed to produce a stronger contention.

In conclusion, the argument is rife with loopholes and assumptions that lack cogency and evidence. Thus, a more critical analysis should be provided in order to provide a sound argument.