The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager indicates that since the television station has devoted less time to weather and local news, there has been some complaints as well as cancellation of advertising contracts from local businesses. To reverse this trend, he recommends that the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. The argument seems to be cogent at first glance, but it reveals several logical flaws, as some key evidences are not shown.

To begin with, the manager points out that the complaints received in the past year are mainly concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news, and thus, indicating viewers’ desire to watch such programs. However, the manager does not mention about the total number of complaints received last year(how many complaints received last years). Perhaps the complaints are only from a very small proportion of viewers and most people are satisfied with time reduction of the weather and local news programs. If this is the case, such complaints can not represent the overall situations. Without detailed information about the exact number of the complaints received regarding the coverage of weather and local news, I will not be convinced by the recommendation given by the manager.

Secondly, the cancellation of advertisement contracts between the station and local firms is mentioned by the manager to support his recommendation, as he assumes that the termination of advertising compacts is related to the program adjustment, which is to reduce the time of weather and local news. However, the termination of advertising contracts may just be a coincidence with the time reduction of weather and local news programs. It is entirely possible that local economy is facing a recession and companies have to cut down their cost in order to withstand the dilemma. Moreover, perhaps local enterprises are switching to online advertisements, as such type of advertisements are more effective to attract viewers. Unless the manager presents detailed investigation about the exact reason why local businesses canceled their advertisement contracts with the station, the assumption he makes to correlate contract cancellation with program adjustment is unjustified.

In sum, the manager fails to point out some significant evidences to buttress his suggestion which is to restore the time devoted to weather and local news, for example the data about the exact number of the complaints and reasons why local businesses terminate the contracts. Without such evidences, it leaves the argument unwarranted.