The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The TV station is considering the restoration of the coverage of local and weather news. Due to the majority of complaints are about news coverage and the cancellation of contract from local companies ever since the national news coverage was started to grow. TV station hopes to increase their viewers and prevent any contract from losing.

However the argument is begging the question that most of the complaints are from different people. Since, as we know, there are differents sorts of ways to complain. Ways like telephones call, email, or writing letters.Especially email and letter can be anonymous. If most of the complaints are from the same person who is irritated each time when he or she is watching the news. He or she may send an anonymous complaint to the station every day. To clarify the credibility of complaints, the argument should give the number of people who dislike the news coverage.

Secondly, it is the argument assumption that the cancellation of advertising contract from local companies is due to the increasing national news coverage. There could be another competitive start-up TV station that appeals more local businesses to invest in it. Or perhaps it is the political attitude, which barely can be avoided from the national news reporting, upsets the local company. Until the argument can distinguish the relation between the local news and the revenue of the local company's revenue, it will be the assertive to make such assumption.

Last, it is a hasty decision that restoring the coverage of local and weather news can attracting more viewers. Although had it be true that there is a decreasing number of viewer due to the increasing coverage of national news, there will be no new viewers without any new appealing approach. The restoration of original news coverage can only compensate the mistake they made and recover the amount of original viewer.

In conclusion, the argument does nor convince me that the coverage of news has anything to do with their dealing with the local business and the number of viewers. To make such link, the argument should provide more data, like the exact number of viewer and the local company attitude toward the news coverage. Then the final decision of the TV station can be rationalized .