The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Over the past year, a television station's late-night news program has devoted more time to national news than to weather and local news. As a result, it received several complaints regarding the lack of coverage of weather and local news. Also, local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night news programs have cancelled their advertising contracts. Hence, the business manager posits that to attract more viewers and the avoid further loss of advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news as earlier. While the argument seems logical, on closer look there needs to be more evidence to adopt the plan of action successfully.

Firstly, it is required to know whether local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts solely because of lack of coverage of weather and local news during the late-night news program. It is quite possible that they were unhappy about the contract because the station didn't air their advertisements as per the agreement in terms of frequency. Also, it might be that they got more attracted to a rival television station which offered cheaper advertising contracts or had a larger viewer base. In either of these cases, the small businesses are likely to withdraw from advertising contract with the station. Then, it would undermine the argument that they cancelled the contract as a result of decreased coverage of weather and local news.

The source of the complaints received were not mentioned. It needs to be determined if the complaints were from a larger variety of viewers, from different parts of the region where the station operates. Possibly, the complaints came from viewers in a certain town since it is quite essential for them to keep track of the weather since it has been erratic in the recent past. Else, a certain town may be seeing several important events taking place and thus, the residents are more interested in updates about the events than in the national news. Such a scenario would make viewers in the region discontent with the increased coverage of national news and hence prompted them to complain aboutt the matter.

Also, it not made clear what the contents of the complaints were. The manager says most of the complaints were regarding the coverage if weather and local news but doesn't state if these complaints were about their decreased coverage. The complaints might have been about the inappropriate coverage by say, a newly recruited set of anchors. They might not have been as appealing as the earlier anchors. Also, probably the content of coverage of local news was of declining standards. The news items covered might not have been relevant or even trivial. The weather reports might have been inaccurate and unrealiable. If the complaints from the viewers were about any of these issues, then just increasing the time devoted to weather and local news wouldn't solve the problem.

Hence, the recommendation shouldn't be taken for granted without examining certain specific evidence. The reason for the cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses needs to be determined. The demography of the viewers who complained has to be researched to see if it was an isolated case. Finally, the contents of the complaints should be subjected to further examination to determine the real issue. Without enough evidence in these matters, the manager's argument remains weak.